A Princess and Her Ranger

Combined birthday parties can be hard. Especially when you the two guests of honor are polar opposites! What better way to do that than to give each child their very own cake! That’s what I did with these two cakes

First, I made this awesome Red Power Ranger cake! This cake is a chocolate cake with buttercream icing that is covered with red fondant. I tried to make it look like the power ranger was coming out of the cake ready to battle! I used fondant to create the border and stars as well. And, of course, added a “Happy Birthday” sign!

IMAG0156

Red Power Ranger Cake

The next cake was for a beautiful Princess. This Princess Sophia cake is a white cake that is covered in violet buttercream. I indented the sides with a diamond quilting pattern and then adorned it with my version of fondant ribbon roses (as taught to me by my talented mom). The plaque on the front is a printed image of Sophia the First on white fondant. I also used white fondant to create the pearls surrounding the plaque and to create the border around the top and bottom edge of the cake. I added a princess crown and another “Happy Birthday” sign to the top.

IMAG0158

Sophia the First Cake

I really enjoyed working on both of these cakes. I think the thing I love most about the Sophia cake is that the design can be very versatile; take away the plaque, sign, and crown and you could have a wedding cake! Simple, but elegant.

Leave a comment